Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Storyteller with the Renaissance Face

Wonderful chap who I met in the Crown in Old Amersham a few months ago. The Crown, by the way, is an Elizabethan Coaching Inn that was used in ‘Four Weddings and a Funeral.’ Anyway, this gentleman was sitting in an easy chair by the fire and I couldn’t take my eyes off his compelling face. We started to chat and he turned out to be full of interesting stories. He’d travelled the world from the middle east to South America and when he wasn’t enjoying a pint, he spent his time deep sea diving in Egypt.

When I asked if he’d pose for a portrait, he agreed – not even balking when I got out my SpeedLight with PowerSnoot. I couldn’t believe my luck.

I took my usual approach and just held the SpeedLight in my raised and extended left hand, aiming it so that the light slanted downwards diagonally, falling just in front of his face. And what a face. It wouldn’t have looked out of place in a renaissance painting.

Camera Nikon D700
Exposure 0.006 sec (1/160)
Aperture f/7.1
Focal Length 35 mm
ISO Speed 200

