Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Omnia Vanitas

Another trip down memory lane. A while back I took some more shots at the school where I taught Literature for twenty years. They wanted some publicity work done and it gave me a chance to hone my portraiture skills. Such fun!

This is the head girl, Maddie, posing with a peacock feather we found in the Art Department. Vanitas, vanitatus. She’s not vain at all, but once you link the idea of a peacock with a pretty girl, you get the concept of vanitas. In my mind, anyway.

One SB-600 with PowerSnoot on quarter power, hand held by an assistant standing a few feet left of camera with her arm in the air, and angling the light downwards. Maddie was standing in front of the shiny blue door to the stock cupboard. I added a texture to cover the hideous gloss surface.

Camera Nikon D700
Exposure 0.005 sec (1/200)
Aperture f/13.0
Focal Length 50 mm
ISO Speed 400

