Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Attitude!

Annual ritual with my delightful son-in-law and the rest of the family. They gave me a book on portrait lighting for Christmas, called ‘Hollywood Portraits.’ It has the lighting set-up for every shot. Trouble is, most of them ask for five or six lights. There are main lights; kicker lights; boom lights; fill lights; background lights and rim lights. I have exactly two SB-600s that work and one that needs mending, so I wasn’t able to attempt many of the shots. Still, I found a few I could try to copy.

So, I used two SpeedLights, for this one, both camera left. One was angled at his face and the other at his torso. Yet again, I didn’t write down the settings, however. This blog is going to be useless as a resource, unless I start writing stuff down.

Camera Nikon D700
Exposure 0.013 sec (1/80)
Aperture f/9.0
Focal Length 50 mm
ISO Speed 200

